Upcoming programs and events

Support Groups
Alzheimer’s Association support groups, conducted by trained facilitators, are a safe place for you to share stories and discuss challenges and possible solutions. Download Florida’s Support Group list (updated 11.19.2020; also there are support groups en español.) For all support groups please call 800.272.3900 to register and receive access codes.

Monday, December 7

2 p.m. ET/1 p.m. CT | Join Us LIVE! Memories in the Making
A unique program that encourages creative expression for individuals in the early stages of dementia. Participants create imaginative and colorful paintings. Most have no prior art experience. Be guided by a trained facilitator from the comfort of your own home. The painting process provides an opportunity to communicate emotions, stories and memories. Registration required, please call 800.272.3900.

Tuesday, December 8

10 a.m. ET/ 9 a.m. CT, Virtual Brain Bus
Healthy Living for Brain and Body: Holiday Edition
Science now shows that lifestyle choices may help you keep your brain and body healthy as you age. Join us to learn about research in the areas of diet and nutrition, exercise, cognitive activity and social engagement. Plus find out how to develop and keep healthy habits during the Holidays.

Wednesday, December 9

11 a.m. ET/10 a.m. CT, Caregiver College
Effective Communication Strategies: Holiday Edition
Join us to explore how effective communication during the holidays can lower caregiver stress and create an enjoyable holiday season for the person living with dementia as well as family and friends.The program will include real-life scenarios plus tips for smoother holiday planning and meaningful communications. RSVP 800.272.3900. This is a telephonic program, no computer is needed.

1 p.m. ET/ Noon CT, Virtual Brain Bus
Healthy Living and Eating at the Holidays
Science now shows that lifestyle choices may help you keep your brain and body healthy as you age. Join us to learn about research in the areas of diet and nutrition, exercise, cognitive activity, and social engagement and use these recommendations to make a plan for healthy aging. Plus find out ways to keep healthy habits and shop, cook, and eat healthy during the Holidays.

1 p.m. ET/Noon CT, Join Us Live! Making Memories
Celebrations in Art with Pam Levin
This is an early-stage engagement experience hosted by the Alzheimer’s Association that offers people living with dementia and their care partners time to talk and reminisce using their imagination through fine art. This week’s class will focus on holidays. RSVP to 800.272.3900.

3 p.m. ET/2 p.m. CT, Virtual Brain Bus Series
This day’s topic is Ten Warning Signs of Alzheimer’s
Join us to learn how to recognize common signs of Alzheimer’s disease. Learn how to approach someone about memory concerns, the importance of early detection and benefits of a diagnosis, possible tests and assessments for the diagnostic process, and Alzheimer’s Association resources.

 

Thursday, December 10

10 a.m. ET/ 9 a.m. CT, Virtual Brain Bus
Healthy Living for Brain and Body with Kahoot!
Join us to learn about research in the areas of diet and nutrition, exercise, cognitive activity and social engagement. After the program, have fun by testing your learning with Kahoot!, game-based learning platform that can be accessed via a web browser or the Kahoot! app.

11 a.m. ET/10 a.m. CT, Caregiver College
Effective Communication Strategies:Holiday Edition
RSVP 800.272.3900. This is a telephonic program, no computer is needed.

Noon ET/11 a.m. CT, Caregiver College
Effective Communication Strategies:Holiday Edition
RSVP 800.272.3900. This is a telephonic program, no computer is needed.

Noon ET/11 a.m. CT, Caregiver College
Effective Communication Strategies: Holiday Edition
Join us to explore how effective communication during the holidays can lower caregiver stress and create an enjoyable holiday season for the person living with dementia as well as family and friends. The program will include real-life scenarios plus tips for smoother holiday planning and meaningful communication.

 

Friday, December 11
On-demand programs anytime
Newly added program is Join Us Live! Art Appreciation through Landscapes.
This recorded activity is led by art educator Pam Levin. Pam highlights may different fine art pieces. Join us as we focus on landscapes, and explore a variety of styles, colors and artists’ work.

 Special Program / Time Sensitive

project vital at home graphic   Stay connected with Project Vital at Home! 
The Alzheimer’s Association, along with the State of Florida, Florida Department of Elder Affairs and iN2L, is excited to offer “Project VITAL at Home.” This new and innovative program has been specially designed for those living with Alzheimer’s disease or another dementia. Participants will receive a wealth of engagement opportunities with an iN2L tablet and have direct access to the Alzheimer’s Association’s live and on demand support and education programs.

 

If you are interested in Project VITAL at Home, visit our website to learn more or call our 24/7 Helpline at 800.272.3900

 

For all programs and events please register through the provided direct link or call the 24/7 Helpline 800.272.3900.



Source link

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here